

ANNUAL BUSINESS MEETING

02 Oct 2021 **MINUTES**

Call to Order:

The Annual Meeting was called to order at 1300hrs EST in the Dining Room of the Alumni Club. 1509 E. Chicago Rd Sturgis, MI 49091. A quorum of the membership was present, including approximately 20+ Alumnae/i / guests. CDR Seibold led the group in the School Prayer and called for approval of the agenda, which was approved by voice vote.

Board Attendance:

- Fred Seibold (A53), President
- Eleni Mitropoulos (A04), 1st VP
- Crystal Vaughn (A12), 2nd VP
- Brian Morabito (A90), Secretary (via Zoom)
- Jean Miller Outreach Coordinator
- Rudy Recile (A85) (via Zoom)
- James McKnight (A78) (via Zoom)

Opening Prayer:

The Howe School Prayer was recited by Fred Seibold.

Approval of Agenda:

Eleni Mitropoulos Motioned for the approval of this year's Annual Business Meeting Agenda, 2nd by Crystal Vaughn (A12); Motion passed by voice vote.

Opening Remarks: There were no "opening remarks" on the Agenda.

Executive Committee Report:

CDR Seibold reported that our Association has had a very good year. He thanked The Howe School Board of Trustees for their generous donation and Alumni donations, all totaling well into five figures. First Vice President Eleni Mitropoulos was congratulated for executing the magnificent achievement of rescuing, inventorying, and transporting 135 years of School memorabilia to the Alumni Club and creating the stunning display. The Association has a new, highly functional website including page-turning scans of Tatlers and on-line reservations and payment for Alumni Weekend which attracted a good turnout considering the ongoing COVID scare. CDR Seibold thanked everyone for attending and participating. CDR Seibold then presented the slate of the Nominating Committee for Directors. Due to the extension of terms

and cancellation of the 2020 meeting, both due to the COVID pandemic, the Nominating Committee waived the term limit provisions of the Bylaws in selecting nominees.

Approval of Minutes from 2019 Annual Meeting (on website; no meeting in 2020)

Eleni Mitropoulos (A04) Motioned for the approval of 2019 Annual Meeting Minutes, 2nd by James McKnight (A78); Motion passed by voice vote.

Financial Report:

CDR Seibold reported that the Association was in the midst of changing Treasurers and thus he had not received a report from former Treasurer Tramel Harris 1993 nor from Treasurer pro tem Rudy Recile 1986, and so gave his presidential estimate of the Association's finances for the past year:

Revenue / Income

Balance Forward: \$ 4,644
Board of Trustees gift: \$20,000

Gifts of 2 alums: \$10,000 (\$5k ea.)
Gifts of 2 alums: \$2,000 (\$1k ea)

Web income: \$ 700 2021 Alumni Weekend registrations: \$ 1,100

Estimated funding available: \$38,444

Estimated Expenses:

Outreach coordinator (ind. contractor): \$ 4,000 Alumni Club rent (storage): \$ 2,000 Alumni Club Alumni Weekend use: \$ 2,000 Old website: \$ 400

New website & 1 yr hosting: \$4,701

2021 Awards Banquet food: \$ 610 Cookout and bar: \$ 213.14 Plaques: \$ 166

LaPayne Photography: \$ 218 (44 HMS color panoramas)

Estimated expenses to date: \$14,308.14 Estimated balance forward: \$24,135.86

Committee Reports:

No committee reports were given.

Nominations and Elections:

Secretary / Parliamentarian note: Terms for Directors typically begin 01 JUL and end 30 JUN (dates that are in line with the fiscal year) but due to unprecedented events consequent to COVID, in-person Alumnae/i gatherings, regular business meetings and annual events have been deferred or held via Zoom teleconference since early 2019, and until such time as they could safely resume. While the newly elected officers' terms began 02 OCT 21 and should end 30 JUN 22, or immediately following the next Annual Business Meeting if the Board should so decide, and to reiterate what CDR Seibold mentioned relative to waiving Director / Officer term limit provisions in his Executive Committee remarks, the current election cycle does not violate Art. IV, sect. 1 of the HMSAA bylaws although the adjusted terms for officers require the board's acknowledgement and that it be noted in the Minutes.)

The following Alumni have been elected to serve as Directors for a three year term:

Michael DeWitt (A01) Term Expires 30 Jun 2024*
Paul Graegin (A84) Term expires 30 Jun 2024*
Chris Hoffecker (A09) Term Expires 30 Jun 2024*
Johnathon Hyde (A00) Term Expires 30 Jun 2024*
Rudy Recile (A86) Term expires 30 Jun 2024*

Active board members:

James McKnight (A78)
Eleni Mitropoulos (A04)
Brian Morabito (A90)
Fred Seibold (A53)
Crystal Vaughn (A12)
Term expires 30 Jun 2022

Unfinished Business:

None declared

New Business:

None declared

Adjournment:

CDR Seibold thanked everyone for participating and called for adjournment. Eleni Mitropoulos (A04) Motioned for adjournment of this year's Annual Business Meeting, 2nd by Michael DeWitt (A01). (Motion passed by voice vote.)

Meeting adjourned at 1345hrs.

Officer Elections:

The slate of officers for the 2021--2022 term were elected by unanimous voice vote at approximately 1350hrs., 02 October 21 at the Alumni Club in Sturgis, MI, where a quorum was achieved. As is customary following the Annual Business Meeting, the Directors meeting was convened to nominate and elect the HMSAA board officers for a one-year term. Those elected were:

President: Michael DeWitt (A01)

1st VP: Eleni Mitropoulos (A04)

2nd VP: Crystal Vaughn (A12)

Secretary: Brian Morabito (A90)

Treasurer: Johnathon Hyde (A00)